Busy


Here are some pictures to prove it! Sorry the quality on some of them is so bad, but most of them are taken at night.

First attempt at spindling…

This was my first yarn, and rather overspun, but it still made a cute coaster.

Second yarn, much better but far from perfect. Oh yeah, I learned how to wrap a center pull ball.

It also made cute coasters…though I can’t figure out why one is bigger than the other. Sigh. Much to learn.

Third attempt…better yet, but still lots of room for improvement.

I made this cute little thing from it (still working with singles, though). Or at least, I think it’s cute.

This yarn is my favorite of all my attempts so far. It turned out the nicest, too…but I still haven’t made anything with it.

The picture doesn’t do it justice at all. It’s so gorgeously green/black and shimmery! I love it and wish I had more of the batt. I’m going to try to obtain some, but we’ll see. My technique for winding yarn onto a spindle needs some improvement, too. 😛

Over all…I think I’m addicted. I ordered a new spindle (lighter), bought more top/roving…eep. But it’s soooo fun! Next up: learning to ply.

7 thoughts on “Busy

  1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting!

    I am going to subscribe to your blog… hopefully I have better luck seeing it at home than I do here! (I think my work computer is blocking the pictures).

    As far as the snow goes, I am aware that it is a blessing in disguise, as our farmland has been in a drought for 3 years now and we need all the moisture we can get. That being said, it’s been a long, hard winter… So you can come and take some snow, I don’t mind. 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful yarn! I especially love the pink one and the green/blue one. I want to try spinning someday but haven’t gotten the courage yet. I am going to add you to my blog roll.

    Candy

    Like

  3. Hi, found your blog on the 20-something blog readers post. I’ve always wanted to try spinning, but would have no idea where to start!!!

    is that interesting looking gadget used for spinning or do you need a wheel?

    Like

    • Yes, it’s a spindle and you can use it to spin and ply yarn. Much more economical than a wheel (though I’d love to have one of those too at some point), and they come in all sorts of lovely designs, and different sizes too!

      Like

  4. I also found your blog through the 20-something blog readers post. Yay for Ravelry!

    I think that the little green crocheted purse is absolutely adorable! I love that stitch pattern (although, you know… I have no crochet skillz), and have always dreamed of working one up in a variegated yarn with a solid. But now I’m thinking that I should use handspun! Yours is so lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

