Following a Dream


It’s been awhile! Life sort of came up and hit me in the face, starting towards the end of October. Actually…five days after I wrote that last post! Had a couple major life events, one of which had awesome results. It was a car accident, for those who are curious, and despite the fact that it totaled my car and left me with a minor concussion and a fractured sternum, I still say it had awesome results. Our insurance covered everything, reimbursed for the car, and I recovered in good time. However, we decided not to replace the car right away. Instead, I’m now doing what I’ve long wanted to do – run my own business from home. I’m turning into a jack-of-all-trades, and LOVING it! I probably won’t love it when I have to file taxes on it (self-employed taxes suck, in case you didn’t know), but I love the freedom and creativity I’m experiencing. I get to do so many different things! I think my dh is rather happy with the change too, as I’m home more and thus cook more, lol.

So what am I doing? One of the jobs I’m super excited about is my new status as the customer service rep for Handknit Heroes. Check it out (if you e-mail them, you’ll probably get to “talk” to me)! A quarterly knitting comic book, including a pattern. It’s carried in quite a few LYSs across the nation as well, so look for them! The editor, Stephanie, recently had a pattern (Rav link) published by Knitpicks – and I knit the sample. That was a lot of fun.

I’m also doing some freelance advertising copywriting for a couple small online fiber/yarn businesses. Really enjoying that too, especially as I’m getting to sample all sorts of fibery goodness! Of course, since it’s copywriting, I can’t tell you a whole lot about it, other than that it’s amazing! πŸ˜€

Last, and certainly not least because I’m so very excited about it, is my own design and yarn studio. Thanks to the very amazing people who started Etsy, I now have a small online store, Wild North Studio. Also, thanks to Etsy and to Ravelry’s amazing designer store system, the first in a series of history inspired knitting patterns has been published. My little Reta Scarflette pattern (inspired by my grandmother and my family’s tradition of quilts – more in a later post) is available both on Rav and as a download from the WNS store. Several lovely ladies from the 3IG groups on Rav test knit it for me – they were all so sweet! Maybe one of these days I’ll be able to give yarn and other goodies for test knitting, but for now I can just give them all a heart felt THANK YOU and a giant e-hug. πŸ™‚

As far as plans for the store go, in addition to designing I’m working on a line of handspun sock yarns and laceweight. The two fingering weight yarns that were in the shop have disappeared (woot! thank you, shoppers), but more are in the works. I’ll also be contributing to the Phat Fiber March box, so look for one of my handspun sock yarn samples if you snag a box!

I really will be back more often now. I’ve been super busy with lots of cool knitting and spinning projects. You can see most of the spinning on my Flickr, but I’ll have to detail some of the knitting in later posts.

2 thoughts on “Following a Dream

  1. This is so exciting, Elizabeth!!!! What neat stuff. And especially since you love it so much.

    I am in awe of your talents, btw. Loveliness!

    ~Theresa

    Like

Leave a Reply

