Plants, Paintings, and Pedalcarts


My plants are growing. Not fast enough to suit me, but that is nothing unusual in the world of gardening or otherwise. This horrid Texas heat is being hard on them, but I’m trying to baby them along. My mom assures me that they will grow, eventually. So far the only things that really seem to be any kind of happy are the moss roses and the cucumber. The moss roses are of course a hot weather plant and are just loving the constant sunshine and heat, and the cucumber is spending at most 4 hours a day outside. The rest of the time it sits in the air-conditioned apartment near a sunny window. Spoiled plant.

The sunflowers aren’t doing too horribly, but they are growing much slower than I remember sunflowers growing. Hrm. I’m blaming it on the heat. And no, they didn’t run out of water and get the brown-edged leaves. No idea how or why that happened, but it freaked me out. Frantic e-mails to my mother ensued. The cucumber is growing fairly well, again not as fast as I remember but oh well. This isn’t really the time of year for cucumbers anyway, and especially not in TX.

I visited some art museums in the Ft. Worth area yesterday with my sister-in-law and her cousins (cousins-in-law?). In the process I discovered a few paintings and one artist that I would love to feature in my own house someday.All the paintings and artists mentioned below are found in the Amon Carter Museum. We also visited the Kimball Art Museum, but aside from the ancient sculptures and pottery they had in the front foyer, I honestly didn’t find their collection very interesting. Perhaps that was because one of their two galleries was closed for reconstruction. Anyway…

The beautiful Woodland Glade, by Wiliam Trost Richards, would look beautiful hanging in my predominantly green bedroom.

Somehow the brooding landscape of Thunderstorm on Narragansett Bay captured my attention. I love how many different moods this painting could evoke in different people, and I think it’d be perfect to hang in a dark and serious corner of a library, or in a hall. This picture has a brownish hue, compared to the painting itself (alas, none of us remembered to bring a camera), and a lot of the details are obscured.

The gallery had several paintings by Thomas Cole, all of which were beautiful. I hope I can find nice prints of some of his landscapes at some point. I would love to have any number of them hanging in various places. You can see an online gallery of his work here. The paintings below were not at the museum, but I found them on Wikipedia when I was poking around for some more information on him. They are a little sad, but so beautiful.

Finally, the pedalcart. I HAVE WHEELS! At long last! I am so excited, even if it does feel a bit like a pedal cart. Most of that is probably due to the fact that this is the first time I’ve ever driven a vehicle with a manual transmission. Eesh. Still trying to get a good grasp on that. I drove it home through daytime city traffic today, and no one honked at me (I did see the lady in the shiny little silver sportscar behind me throw up her hands once) though, so I guess I’m doing alright. 🙂 It’s a Ford Ranger that is (I think) about 10 years old, courtesy of my mother-in-law’s generosity. The picture isn’t the exact truck, because I haven’t washed it yet – but it looks just like this one. 

2 thoughts on “Plants, Paintings, and Pedalcarts

  1. Yay!!! I’m happy you finally got a car.

    Good luck on your plants. I’m waiting until fall on the advice of my coworkers.

    And the paintings are lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

