Creatures of Habit


I’ve realized in the past few weeks just how much I like consistent schedules.

Without a schedule, I tend to drift through the day, doing a little here, a little there, and not really getting anything done. I also like consistency. I hate my work schedule being yanked around any which way, and I really don’t understand how anyone that works retail can like it. Are all stores like this, the management and staff schedule changes every week? I understand special events come up sometimes, but does no one else find this lack of dependability frustrating?

I discovered I like consistency at the expense of sleeping in of the morning. I would rather get up at 5:30 am and still be able to have my little morning ritual of coffee, e-mail, and an hour to get myself and my thoughts in order before leaving for work, than I would stay in bed until 6:30 and have just enough time to get cleaned up, coffee made and in a thermos before dashing out the door. This despite the fact I’m a shameless night owl when given the choice.

What is with this? Is this just a normal state of affairs? A product of stress? A type-A personality? πŸ˜›

2 thoughts on “Creatures of Habit

  1. Temperament, I think. πŸ™‚ I’m the same way. I have a hard time scheduling *myself*, but I totally need a consistent schedule in order to do anything (and feel my best).

    Like

Leave a Reply

