Garden Progress


I’m beginning to think that gardening might not be as cost-effective as previously thought. By the time I finished digging half of the allotted plot today, I was twice as hungry as normal and still am. πŸ˜› My body had also apparently forgotten it possessed certain muscles, which are now screaming in protest of a few hours spent digging in weed-matted earth.

Yeah. Half-way finished. I was hoping to get it all done today, but when almost 3 hours yielded half and my body becoming less and less willing to move…I threw on the bone meal and composted manure (due to a soil test revealing a pH balanced but nearly depleted soil – see pic) and called it a day. In some places the weeds are so thick it’s like trying to dig through sod. Hopefully this next weekend will be nice enough I’ll be able to do the other half and re-dig the half I did today.

Yeah, the other side is still a tangled, nasty mess.

I received my Botanical Interests order this week. It wasn’t much, a few new kinds of peppers and tomatoes, and several medicinal herbs. The shipping was super fast, always a plus. πŸ™‚ I’m really excited to try some more heirloom type vegetables and flowers. I had never paid that much attention to the heirloom designation, though thanks to my mom’s garden experiments was well aware of the dangers of attempting to save seed from hybrids. πŸ˜‰ This week I may order a few more herb seeds from Horizon Herbs. Still thinking about it. I’m not sure if I want to do that, or try to get my hands on some already dried so I can start experimenting with various concoctions. Hehe.

In other news…the lavender actually sprouted! So did the parsley that I had given up on. I’m a little bit stoked. Only a picture of the lavender for now, which looks very spindly and a little yellow. I think some fertilize is in order, but I need to figure out what I want to use for organic fertilizer.

(post written Sunday)

One thought on “Garden Progress

  1. Pingback: Making Bone Meal | Suburbhomestead's Blog

Leave a Reply

