March Madness


Actually, this post has nothing to do with basketball. Sorry to disappoint. I wish I had time to keep up with college basketball…but not that badly.

I’ve once again had a very busy couple of weeks (I think I say that in every post), and while I have several books started have only finished one.

18.Β  The Last Camel Died at Noon, by Elizabeth Peters. #6 in the Amelia Peabody series.

This is a series I’ve really been enjoying. It’s not high literature by any means, but it’s a cut above your standard fluffy detective novel. I’ve laughed until I’ve cried with almost every one of the books, and wouldn’t be ashamed to have them on my shelves. That said, I haven’t yet bought a hard copy of any of them because I’m a bit torn on how to go about collecting the series.

Hardbacks of books I like will always be my first choice. However, I’m very anal-retentive about the books matching when lined up on a shelf. As you can see from this Amazon Listmania list, these weren’t originally printed in matching editions and as far as I can tell haven’t been reprinted to match. So sad, and so frustrating! What’s a girl to do?

There does seem to be a couple different printings of softcover (not the awful Mass Market Paperback) editions that have been printed for all of the series to match, but…they’re softcover. Hence my dilemma – do I attempt to obtain the mismatched and undoubtedly more expensive hardcover set (after which, some company will of course decided to reprint a nice, matched hardcover edition of the series), or do I buy the softcovers?

Decisions, decisions. Not that I’m in really rush, as either way such a set would be a bit costly.

 

2 thoughts on “March Madness

    • It took me awhile to figure it out again (couldn’t remember where I’d picked up the code), but go to “My Account,” and then click on the Widget tab. There are several to choose from, not all of them worked with WordPress but maybe you will have better luck with Blogger. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

