Sans Makeup


I’m in the middle of something of a personal challenge right now. A very uncomfortable one, at least for me. I’m going without makeup for an entire week.

First, let me explain. The skin of my face is super, super sensitive. It’s a battle to keep it happy, no matter what I do. Makeup – even hypoallergenic, organic, natural makeup – just seems to irritate it. I want to claw and scratch by the time half the day is over. It’s not that my skin is “bad” to begin with, it’s just that every time I get a bump, the redness stays long after the bump itself is gone and so my skin tone is very blotchy due to how pale I am. I look like I’m constantly getting over the measles.

Secondly, I don’t even wear that much. I wear a concealer on the reddest spots, a powder foundation, occasionally some blush, and rarely one color of eyeshadow. I used to wear mascara but it made my eyes itch and didn’t agree with my contacts. Lately I’ve come across a couple ladies with gorgeous skin, just blooming with life and vitality – and they don’t wear makeup. At all.

So I decided to give it a try. For one week, I’m only using my facial wash, toner, and moisturizer – which I admittedly would sometimes skip if I was in a hurry to get ready in the morning, probably compounding the problem. If, after one week, my skin feels significantly better (not going on looks here, since if I was slightly allergic to the products I was using it will probably take longer than a week for the skin to settle again) I will probably continue for another week.

But I’m having a self-esteem crisis. I hate going out in public. I feel like everyone is staring at my blotchy face. I feel ugly and naked. And it shouldn’t be that way. I hadn’t realized how dependent on my makeup I’d become. I’m really hoping this clears up fast, so I can swear off makeup forever. I’d much rather have enough of a natural, healthy glow to not have to worry about it. At the moment, though…I want a paper bag.

2 thoughts on “Sans Makeup

  1. You can do it! Going without make-up might seem hard at first but your skin is going to thank you for it later. Plus who says we need make-up up anyway πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

