A Good Mail Day


I received a letter from an awesome friend inΒ  Finland last week. After I sat down with my dinner and her lovely long letter – resisting its charms while heating my leftovers and practically dancing in place with impatience – I was reflecting on how wonderful it felt to have a good mail day.

There’s nothing that quite replaces the feeling of knowing that someone was thinking of me, and enough to carefully write and package a thoughtful letter.

It made me feel very guilty about the handful of unanswered letters sitting on my desk. Granted, my summer has thus far been very busy, but still. I resolved to spend some time this weekend crafting good mail days for some of my friends and family, and even some random people through Postcrossing. πŸ™‚

I’m kind of in love with the bicycle stamps. Actually, the entire USPS stamp program for this year. They seem to just keep coming! I guess maybe I hadn’t paid that much attention in previous years, but there are so many this year. I’m not a stamp collector (though I keep meaning to order the 1st day and digital covers for this year’s program), but I do love putting interesting stamps on my letters, and matching the color scheme to my stationery if I can. πŸ˜‰ Hehe. I do wish USPS would stop raising the prices on stamps, especially international ones. It cost me almost $2.00 to mail an envelope just slightly over an ounce.

Can I just say how jealous I am of Maria over at Penpals, Postcards and Swaps for how much mail she gets? However, I would bet she spends a lot more time per week writing/sending mail too, so I guess it’s only fair. Photo from her blog.

Maybe tomorrow I will be able to catch up on another letter or two. We shall see. My garden also needs caught up, Timmy needs a good grooming, and I have a million books to read…

3 thoughts on “A Good Mail Day

  1. I got it! πŸ™‚ I sent you a FB email the other day btw, about writing…did that go through? If not don’t worry about it, I’ll include some of that in my letter. YAY letters, letters are my favorite! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

