Monday Jitters


I have an interview for a new position at work this morning, and thus have a bad case of the jitters. No doubt compounded by the fact that I’m trying NOT to get sick (sore throat, headache since yesterday) – or more likely, that allergies have arrived yet again. I tried to sleep in this morning, but it didn’t work very well so I hauled myself out of bed and proceeded to down a dose of Dayquil, Tylenal, and copious amounts of echinacea tea. After almost two hours the headache was still lingering, and since it was approaching the 24-hour mark I decided some caffeine might be in order. One cup of coffee and half an hour later, the headache is gone but now I’m doubly jittery about the interview…so I’m going to write about something else now.

Like this beautiful tree/bush I’ve been in love with for the past several weeks, ever since it started blooming. However, no one could identify it for me! I finally discovered it’s a crepe myrtle by wandering around the garden section of Lowe’s. The name is VERY familiar and I feel like I should have been able to identify it myself, but oh well. πŸ˜›

Also this quilt I’ve been trying to finish for ages. Am I the only one who feels like unfinished projects are a real energy or creativity drain? This top was made in a machine-piecing class I took when I was 16. That’s…quite a few years ago. Right after that I discovered my sewing machine, while able to piece just fine, was not really capable of machine quilting. I decided to hand quilt it, didn’t listen to my grandmother’s advice about choosing a simpler motif for the large blocks (I picked echo hearts…ugh), and now, some years later, just want the damn thing to be finished. It is over half done, but I’m just tired of it. Tired of the colors, tired of hearts, just…blah. It’s pretty enough, I suppose, but I just want to do something new.

Which would explain why I’m enamored of this beautiful color collection and the idea of putting the jelly roll into a Pandora’s Box quilt or something similar. I totally love the owl faces in a couple of the fabrics. We’ll see how long this project takes, since I’m currently dependent on friends sharing their sewing machines. πŸ˜‰ Not to mention I have one other quilt top I need to quilt.

Yeah, more with the psychedelic colors. Actually, I bought the fabrics for this particular one with some of the money I received as high school graduation presents, and so made it in my school colors. Kind of over them as well, though. Hehe.

Almost interview time…wish me luck! And calm. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Monday Jitters

  1. Pingback: First Finished Quilt | The Bent Needle

Leave a Reply

