For Memory


When I knew Timmy only had a few days left with me, somewhere amid all the agony of heart and mind came the thread of an idea. An idea to memorialize him as so many others have remembered dear friends and family – through art. Art takes many forms, and most of mine is textile related. Somehow that idea took hold and in rare moments of some cognitive ability, I started putting colors and designs together. There is some relief, however brief, in putting a little more beauty into the world.

I chose the pattern “Starflower,” from Jinny Beyer’s book Quiltmaking by Hand. Ordinarily I would have tried to come up with a design of my own, but that’s just a little too much to deal with right now.

The main color is not as orange as it appears in this picture. It’s really more of an amber gold.

I took a good deal of liberty with the suggested colors for this pattern.

The quilt will tell a story. It may be only to me, as I doubt many others will appreciate the plain colors in a traditional setting. But every color was chosen with reference to the imprint Timmy left on my life and heart. I picked solids only, not only to avoid the flighty busyness that can sometimes crop up when combining prints but because Timmy’s presence was so solid and constant.

First tiny block done.

I don’t know how long it’ll be before it’s finished. I do know that the hours I spent working on it today (after an unexpected early end to my day at work) were very cathartic. While I ordinarily prefer using a machine for piecing, I don’t think I’ll regret taking the extra time to hand piece this particular quilt.

One thought on “For Memory

  1. Pingback: Discombobulated | The Bent Needle

Leave a Reply

