Blissfulness of Nothing


Pic from Wikipedia

“When you follow your bliss… doors will open where you would not have thought there would be doors; and where there wouldn’t be a door for anyone else.” ~ Joseph Campbell

This morning I’m sitting here, relaxing in the calm state of blissful relaxation induced by the realization that –

I have nothing to do today. Nothing that has to be done, nowhere I have to go. I can spend my entire day sleeping if I wish. I can take time to enjoy a now-rare cup of coffee, I can read all day, or sew or knit all day. I can play a game. I can do whatever strikes my fancy. If I go anywhere it’ll be because I genuinely want to. Today I’m going to do whatever makes me happy at that moment. As far as the quote – no, doing nothing is not always my bliss. 😛 But after a long week, my mind and soul need the decompression time.

Sorry, just had to get that out. After an almost 60-hour work week, it’s amazing to be able to relax in bed and realize that I can savor the earlyish morning time in my comfy clothes, because I don’t have to report for work in half an hour. I genuinely enjoy my job, but it’s very consuming and often stressful – all while being a large part of my bliss. 🙂

Leave a Reply

