Bookish Things


Maybe it’s the change in weather. Maybe it’s a release from some work-related stress. Maybe it’s a little more time after losing Timmy. Regardless, I’ve developed an interest in reading again. Right after deciding I didn’t have to force myself to finish Jane Eyre. Hm.

First of all, WTF is with the vampires? I knew there was a big rush of vampire books thanks to the Twilight books and the TV show “True Blood,” but good gods alive. Do people never, ever get tired of them? Supernatural is fine, when done well. But variety is the spice of death. Er, something like that. Please, how about something else? Also…WHY all the YA novels? Why? I don’t need to be reminded of just how whiny 16 and 18 year olds are, or just how drama-filled their lives tend to be. Nor do I want to read about the reject-Hermione-type exception to those generalities. And I most definitely do not (I’m 24) want to feel like a cougar for being attracted to the main male character. Alright, rant over.

So how about the werewolves in Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series? Excellent alternative to vampires, in my opinion. I just finished the first one, Soulless. Apparently I’m a bit late on this bandwagon, but better late than never and all that rot. In the interest of full disclosure I’ve always had something of an interest in shapeshifter mythology, so as soon as I figured out there was more werewolf than vampire in this particular story it moved up my to-be-read list. Then it was offered as a B&N Free Friday book, so…

Two words: Hot. Damn. I was expecting a crime/mystery of the noir sort. What I got was a racy little number that while maybe a little short on the intricacy of a mystery plot, delivered a lot in terms of humor and style. I can’t remember the last time I finished a book so fast. Not that it would have anything to do with the sexual tension between awesomely snarky, intelligent Alexia or the cursed, given to profanity and frequent roaring but ever-so-sexy Lord Maccon (with a Scottish accent to boot). Highly recommend and I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series.

Also this kind of changed my mind entirely about Goodreads. Previously I had sort of written it off as not being nearly as good as LibraryThing. It’s not, as far as library cataloging goes, but when it comes to book recommendations it was right on the money. ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s been while since I updated my reading list here, so, for the 75 Books in 2012 Challenge:

35.ย  The Serpent’s Shadow, by Mercedes Lackey
36.ย  Chocolate Cookie Murder, by Joanne Fluke
37.ย  Parker Pyne Investigates, by Agatha Christie
38.ย  Rosemary Gladstar’s Medicinal Herbs: a Beginner’s Guide, by Rosemary Gladstar
39. Walkin’ on the Happy Side of Misery: a Slice of Life on the Appalachian Trail, by Junius R. Tate
40.ย  Round Robin, by Jennifer Chiaverini
41.ย  Still Life, by Louise Penny
42.ย  Practical Guide to Patchwork: New Basics for the Modern Quiltmaker, by Elizabeth Hartman
43.ย  The Other End of the Lease: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs, by Patricia B. McConnell
44. Quilting Modern: Techniques and Projects for Improvisational Quilts, by Jacquie Gering
45.ย  Soulless, by Gail Carriger

Leave a Reply

