Another Improvement Project (i.e., another way to fill an already full life)


I actually don’t even remember where this idea came from. But somewhere, a few months ago, the Star City Women’s 5K was brought to my attention, and I decided I needed to run it. This year. As in on October 6, 2012. It’s put on by the Star City Striders.

Have I ever mentioned how much I hate running? Well, I do. Hiking, biking, swimming, walking, climbing – all great. Running? Blargh. Then earlier this year I ran across some sort of article on trail running and thought, Hm…maybe I could do this. Why? Trail running would at least give me some time out in nature, under trees and alongside creek. As opposed to the pounding the pavement (or treadmill) image running always conjures up for me. At least while my lungs and legs are screaming at me, my mind can be somewhere up in the treetops.

Er, yeah. Along with my crazy work schedule and all the other stuff I feel compelled to do, I’ve been (rather halfheartedly) training for the run. I’m registered and have a friend who is going to run it as well. Will I be able to actually run the entire thing? Nope. Not an icecube’s chance in hell. I’ve been using the Couch to 5K program, but not frequent enough to be up to running 3.1 miles in entirety. The distance is no problem, it’s the running part that gets me.

Really having a facepalm moment. I’m sure there will be more to follow.

What was I thinking?

Leave a Reply

