A New Year


“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.'” ~Mary Anne Radmacher

I’ve been feeling a bit down over my “accomplishments” in 2012. Or rather, the lack thereof. I had two goals for this year, and only one of them was completed.

Obtain a passport. The passport never materialized (yes Heidi, that was one of my goals for LAST year…and I never got around to it), mostly because a quick check of everything else revealed going anywhere out of the country wasn’t going to work in the foreseeable future. Still, I should have done it, just because of the time it takes to process the darn thing.

Read 75 books. I’m cheating a bit on this one. According to GoodReads, I only read 59. However, GoodReads doesn’t have a way to count magazines, of which I read A LOT. National Geographic and Outside Magazine are regulars, along with anything else that catches my eye. I love magazines and have ever since I could read. I feel a bit guilty counting them, but considering the amount of info in most of the ones I read, and the fact that I read them all cover to cover, I think they should count. Even if GoodReads doesn’t approve.

A lot happened this year. I was promoted twice, we lost Timmy, I got my first tattoo, we moved, Alfie found me, I harvested my first edibles from my own garden, I became Reiki certified, and finished many quilt and knitting projects. We explored the Roanoke Valley on many local hiking trails. Really though, most of what really happened this year isn’t quantifiable. It can’t really be measured. I can’t explain how I feel like I found more of myself this year. I can’t explain how I feel like I found my creative self by accepting my own forms of art. I can’t explain how or why I finally don’t feel silly when I say the trees and the land talk to me.

So…while I don’t have a long list of accomplishments, maybe I don’t need to feel bad. And you know what?

I will try again tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. It sounds like you actually did accomplish quite a bit last year, even if it isn’t all things that can be easily summed up or explained. Celebrate what you have accomplished rather than dwelling on what didn’t get done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

