Stacks for July


I have so many delicious books waiting for me, and a long weekend to enjoy them in! I highly doubt I will get them ALL read, but this is a nice start to July nonetheless. One of these I meant to read in June, but life (i.e., other books) happened. I didn’t even manage to get them all in the picture! And of course, there are also the e-books I’m hoping to read.

IMG_3302

Starting from the bottom:

Wild, by Cheryl Strayed – Yes, I know. This book has been getting rave reviews pretty much ever since it came out…I stayed away because while I love travel/hiking memoirs, I heard there was a high percentage of drugs/sex in it. I keep seeing it though, and some of my favorite reviewers/bloggers have given it high praise so I decided I’d give it a shot.

The Secret Place, by Tana French – the most recently published of Tana’s books, because I saved it until the publication of the next one (already pre-ordered) seemed somewhat close enough. Ish.

A Killing in the Hills, by Julia Keller – I read a description of this book somewhere recently, and not only does it seem right up my alley as far as the mystery and intrigue, but it’s set in West Virginia. My family’s old homestead in the WV hills is the most beloved place of my childhood memories, so I really just can’t resist.

Jackaby, by William RitterAdventures of a Book Junkie posted about the 3rd of this series coming out soon, and it intrigued me enough to go find the original. New author, new series for me.

A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas – there was so much hype about this book, which I wrote off as too much high school type fangirling…and then The Book Geek wrote a glowing post on the second book of the series, which obviously means I have to read the first because you can’t start with the second.

The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith (a.k.a., J.K. Rowling) – I’ve never read any of Rowling’s other books outside of Harry Potter. I didn’t want my image of her as a writer tarnished, as of course I still read reviews on them and they were less-than-stellar. However, a friend convinced me to bite on the procedural/mystery series she has going. So again, giving it a shot!

The Vanishing Throne, by Elizabeth May – this is the sequel to The Falconer, one of my favorite books from last year and that surprised me quite a bit. Granted, I am not a frequent flier when it comes to book about the fae or fantasy. However,Β  I loved The Falconer enough to immediately pre-order the sequel, and it arrived this week!

First Lord’s Fury, by Jim Butcher – the last in Butcher’s Codex Alera series, that I’ve been putting off forever because I’m scared to see how the series ends. But it’s long past time for me to find out!

22840421

My Lady Jane, by Cynthia Hand (and company) – as previously mentioned in the OwlCrate review. I’m anticipating a rollicking good story that doesn’t take itself too seriously. Hopefully I’m not disappointed!

28818369

The Graces, by Laure Eve – my attention was first caught by this cover and then by the description, and I’ve been lucky enough to get an early review copy! Squee! It’s a storyline that could be really good or extremely trite…fingers crossed. This one was also from Adventures of a Book Junkie’s post…hmmm. I sense a theme.

27070127

Vinegar Girl, by Anne Tyler – a retelling of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew, which is one of my favorite Bard plays. Again, this could be really good or really bad, and again, fingers crossed. I was also lucky to get a review copy of this one, but it is still on it’s way here so I’m only hoping to get it here some time in July.

I know that some of these won’t get read, and that some books WILL be read that are not on this list, but goals are good things to have. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

