Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Facts About Me



This TTT pick from over at The Broke and the Bookish this week! Link to be added once that side of the world wakes up to Tuesday (it’s almost noon here).

  1. I’ve been reading pretty much non-stop since I was 4. My mom taught me how to read. Little did she know what she was creating…
  2. I have a B.A. in English, but since I graduated in 2010 have worked as a phlebotomist and EMT. I love words and books, but I can’t make it my JOB. At least not currently. I get too twitchy if I do nothing but stare at a computer screen ALL the time.
  3. I think animals are better than people. About 90% of the time. I’m really a dog person, even though I’ve only had cats for the past 4 years.
  4. I like eating canned black olives straight out of the can.
  5. I love trees. I am convinced that somehow, there are spirits in trees that I could talk to if I could just figure it out.Β 
  6. I would like to get rid of television. Permanently.
  7. The first movie I saw in theater was Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. I was 20.
  8. Besides reading, my next favorite things to do are anything outside (unless it involves LARGE quantities of mud, but a little is ok), knitting/spinning, and writing letters. Some of my best friends I’ve only ever “met” in writing.Β 
  9. I don’t plan to have children. I love my friends’ kids and have a lovely, adorable goddaughter (that I sadly haven’t met in person yet), but feel no need to procreate. And don’t tell me getting older will change my mind. I’m 28. I’m child-free by choice and my husband is 100% okay (maybe we should say thrilled – he already has a child from a previous marriage, and said kid is awesome but also almost an adult so…much awkwardness would ensue) with that.
  10. I’ve wanted to hike the Appalachian Trail AND be a medical doctor since I was 11 years old.

Well, that was fun and oh-so-very random! Can’t wait to read all the others that come from the link-up. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜„πŸ“šπŸ˜œ

14 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 10 Facts About Me

  1. This is an awesome list of facts ;D It’s SO awesome to find out more about the blogger behind the blog, right?!? And omg animals are better than people. Dogs though. DOGS ARE AMAZING. XD Well, mine is a fiendish little devil but I still love him. hehe.
    I can probably count the amount of times I’ve been to the cinema on one hand! I’m not much of a fan haha. XD
    TREES ARE DEFINITELY AWESOME.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww, I didn’t realize you had a dog! Obviously he/she needs to be featured in your book photos. Maybe they already are…I’ll go stalk your Instagram. πŸ˜€ Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. I hardly watch any television, only movies or Netflix – which could both be done on the computer, so I wouldn’t mind getting rid of my television either. But my husband wouldn’t be too happy about that πŸ™‚
    And good for you that you are child-free by choice! I’m 30 but don’t have any kids yet (wanting to focus on other things first) and I may want kids in the future, just not right now. But one of my pet peeves is when people ask ‘so when are you gonna start having kids?’ – that’s just rude and not everybody has the same priorities in life.
    Anyway, great list!

    Like

  3. Do you ever get people telling you that you’ll change your mind when you’re older? About the kid thing I mean. I’m also 28 and have never wanted children. Been rather vigilant to ensure I don’t have any children. But people always tell me that I’ll feel differently when I’m older. I find it rather frustrating and kind of rude if I’m entirely honest.

    Those Elvis stamps are lovely. And you spin your own yarn? That’s lovely I’ve always thought spinning is rather peaceful and relaxing. I haven’t done a lot but when I was little my dad let me help him spinning mohair.

    Like

    • Yep! Not quite as much now but when I was in my early 20s it was SO bad. Now it’s usually only when someone sees me playing with a child and then finds out I don’t want one, haha. As if somehow I must be mistaken and THEIR child will change my mind. Sorry, your kid is cute but not THAT cute! Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What on awesome list of facts!! Haha, #3 is totally true to me – I’ve only had cats in the past… 3 years, I think, but I do like dogs more. Not that cats aren’t amazing.
    On a side note, based off on your love for trees and the reason behind it, I definitely think you should read Uprooted by Naomi Novik, if you haven’t yet. (FUN FACT – whatever the topic, I always get back to talking about books!)
    Awesome list! πŸ™‚

    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

    Like

    • I loved Uprooted! One of my favorites from last year! πŸ˜€ I hope she writes more in that world or similar. Did you read any of her Temeraire books? Those are really good too.

      Like

  5. I used to be one of those people that didn’t get that people didn’t want children until I realized this is what soceity expectations pushes on us, to have children. There is such a negative backlash to those that say they don’t want kids and many years later now I don’t understand that because it’s not their life and not their concern. It’s not like we are dying out here or anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

