Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want to Do or Learn


My 3rd TTT! Whoohoo, I’ve stuck with something for 3 weeks. πŸ˜€ Ahem. Anyway. Sponsored as always by the awesome The Broke and the Bookish blog. πŸ™‚

I don’t think I have 10 specific things for this one, so I’m just going with what I do have.

1.  My childhood fantasies always, ALWAYS involved horses. I know many little girls can relate. I was obsessed with horses. Mostly of The Black Stallion variety. But also including the Misty of Chincoteague books. Even as an adult, one of my bucket list items is to visit Chincoteague Island (where the Misty books are set). The fascination with horses has never died, but sadly never been fully realized either. 😦

2.  Climb mountains. When I was in 7th grade I had to read Banner in the Sky. I loved mountains and taking long walks in the hills well before that, but this book lit some kind of flame for reaching the TOP in my little competitive heart.

3. Travel and history. I’m putting these together because there is one author in particular that I have to credit with kindling the love of both. Lois Lenski, writer of the 1946 Newbery winner Strawberry Girl, wrote an entire series of children’s books set in the different regional areas of the United States. It just so happened her hometown was Springfield, OH, which ALSO happened to be the largest public library near my family when I was growing up. Her books met my mother’s VERY strict moral standards (maybe because they were written in, oh, the 40s!) and still entranced my hungry brain. I wanted to GO all these places! See people! Also see how they had all changed in the 50 years since the books took place. I still have a very soft spot in my heart for Lenski’s writing.

4. Be proud of myself. Realize that I am worth something, that my feelings and desires are valid whether they are shared by – well, anyone – or not. This I can’t lay at the feet of one particular author, book, or character. I’ve read a lot of books with strong female characters, or female characters who became strong, independent, and fearless. Some of the characters were real. Elizabeth Blackwell – first female doctor in the United States. Florence Nightingale – almost singlehandedly revolutionizing the field of nursing and saving countless soldiers’ lives in the Crimean War. Jane Austen – writing novels when women were supposed to be seen and not heard. Amelia Earhart – flying and daring and doing in the age of perfect, silent, long-suffering housewives. Some of the characters were not real but no less inspiring. Jo from Little Women – scribbling and traveling and daring to be different in her life choices. Eowyn from Lord of the Rings – a Shieldmaiden of Rohan, and a healer.Hermione from Harry Potter – it’s ok to be smart and love books more than you like to dress up. Sara Bradshaw from Jacob Have I Loved – being strong for herself when there is no one else to be strong for her. And a new favorite, Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses – “I am no one’s pet.” So many, and I’m still discovering more. I love developing, imperfect, strong female characters. Nothing turns me off from a book faster than Buttercup-type females. Gag. 

So that’s definitely not 10, but I think it’s a pretty good list. Can’t wait to see what everyone else is coming up with! Leave your link in the comments and I’ll come visit…I try to visit people from the main link up, but there are SO many! 

Leave a Reply

