TTT Rewind #5: Favorite Book Bloggers


I looked at today’s prompt on The Broke and the Bookish last night and my little heart through a party. As soon as I scrolled through the list of past prompts I knew which one I wanted to do!

Top 10 Favorite Book Bloggers!

Now most of these people, I’m sure you all already know. That’s ok. These folks are so witty and brilliant they don’t need my help getting subscribers. I’m linking people here who inspired me to get my hot-as-hell love for books back. People who convinced me that book-shaming and literary snobbery has no place in our world. People who are open to and love discovering new cultures, existences outside of their own comfort zone, and aren’t afraid to have an unpopular opinion or two. People who stirred my love of writing agin. Some of them I’ve read for quite awhile. Some I only discovered a couple of months ago. You should go sub to all of them. Seriously.

I’m not using numbers for this one, because that feels too much like rating the bloggers themselves. That’s not what I’m doing. I love all of these blogs equally for their own unique voices.

stay-calm-and-support-book-bloggers

The Book Geek – Emily May was actually the very first book blogger I stumbled across, and I found her on GoodReads. Her witty, sometimes snarky voice made me sit up and take notice of books I might otherwise have passed on. Also, her don’t-care-who-thinks-I’m-wrong attitude was what helped me shed the last bit of the literary snobbery hanging on from my college days.

Hit or Miss Books – I follow HoMB through Bloglovin. Not too long ago I was several days behind on reading, and I kept clicking through to comment…and I’m pretty sure I commented on her reviews like 5 times in a row. Because her writing was just that compelling! I felt like I just had to talk to her or say something about that particular book. Maybe we just have similar tastes, but I love her reviews.

A Page with a View – I am in love with Cait’s hair and for that reason alone you should go visit her blog. No ok really. She writes awesome reviews and has awesome photos. Go see for yourself.

Paper Fury – another Cait! The first thing I noticed about her site was the pictures. GORGEOUS pictures. Then I was totally hooked by her writing. I feel her love for books and writing just bubbling out of my computer screen whenever I read her posts. She has such a hilarious turn of phrase that always makes me laugh and smile. If I ever met her in person I would have to refrain from giver her a tackle-hug, just because I feel like she’s earned one for the constant pick-me-up that is her blog.

Lost in Literature – this is one I found through Instagram/bookstagram! Lisa and Becca do take amazing photos, but I was even more excited to find their blog. I love bookstagram, don’t get me wrong, but I want to know more about the books you’re raving over than you can get into Instagram. Also reading those super super long captions some people write is intensely annoying. I love their thoughtful reviews.

The Perpetual Page Turner – Jamie is someone I would like to sit down and have coffee with – or maybe wine (Jamie, if you should happen to read this and don’t drink wine, please don’t be offended). I love how she works her real life into her book posts – because we do all have real lives, we don’t spend our entire day in a comfy chair reading (even if we’d like to, haha).

***The Starry-Eyed Revue*** – I haven’t been following Jen and April for all that long, but they succeed in adding to my TBR list pretty much every week. Also they constantly drive me crazy by reviewing the very books I’m DYING to get my hands on but just can’t seem to convince myself to buy, or that the library is constantly out of. Thanks. I know they’re not sorry.

Adventures of a Book Junkie – I actually found Stacee first on GoodReads too! I think she posts more reviews there than on her blog, so the initial link is to that page. I am AMAZED by the sheer volume of her reviews. I’m convinced she either spends all day every day reading, or speedreads like a MF. I love how she tries anything and everything. I want to be as brave as she is in my reading choices one day! Also read in my sleep or however she does it. Haha.

The awesome people behind the book blogs are one of the main reasons I decided to give book blogging a serious go, so my hat is really off to these folks that make

 

8 thoughts on “TTT Rewind #5: Favorite Book Bloggers

  1. I love your picks. SO many bloggers that I’ve been following for a long time. Jamie has always been a fave and I feel like she’s the standard that every book blogger tries to live up to. I love Paper Fury, Cait is so silly and cute. And yes to Lost in Lit and Starry-Eyed Revue. All those girls are super nice and personable 🙂

    Like

  2. This list is exactly what I needed to see! I’m always looking for awesome book bloggers, so I’m excited to check some of these out. 🙂 I love Paper Fury – she never fails to make me smile at her posts. Also a huge fan of The Perpetual Page-Turner, she writes some really great posts. 🙂

    Like

    • Hope you found some new ones to follow! So many awesome people in this community. I can’t even keep up with all the ones I’ve found already…I can spend an entire day just reading book blogs, haha. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. This is such a cool idea! I first found Emily on Goodreads too. For almost every book I looked up, she had written a review. It’s amazing how many books people are able to read! And Paper Fury! Her Instagram is so amazingly amazing, it’s just plain amazing. 🙂

    Like

    • Hahaha – I feel the same way about Paper Fury’s Instagram…like I want to do the whole fangirl-handwaving thing when I scroll through her feed. So many lovely books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

