Something Else Sunday #7


So, this is more like Something Else MONDAY, because with the holiday I wasn’t on board with the idea that yesterday was the last day of the weekend. Also I needed the time to recharge after the last two weeks. Holy hell in a hand basket. SO GLAD it’s over and things can go back to normal, or at least as normal as things ever are here.

I actually paid someone to clean my house today, because DH and I have both been a bit overwhelmed in the last few months and hadn’t done a thorough cleaning, just what bits needed to be done to keep it livable. It was at the overwhelming point, so we bit the bullet and had it done professionally. Cue the singing angels. It was glorious. I sat on the balcony and read while the lady cleaned (like an effing whirlwind, I might add).

IMG_3721

Sir Tristan did NOT approve of a stranger doing the cleaning (see the claw grip on my jeans). 

The Harry Potter Knitting/Crochet House Cup started again this week! I was really in a creative slump but this has perked me right up again. Go Hufflepuffs! I’m actually Divergent, on all the Potter tests I get some conglomeration of Ravenclaw/Gryffindor/Hufflepuff, but as far as the House Cup goes I’m ALL PUFF. I’m actually doing my first term as staff this time, and even though I knew there was a shit ton of planning and volunteers that were behind the Cup, I really had no idea. And I’m not even really doing anything, just seeing what all goes on behind the scenes. I guess the whole idea probably sounds crazy to non-HP fans/non-crafters, but it’s a lot of fun for the crafty nerds of the world. 😉

As I mentioned last week, I finally dragged my Vivian out of hibernation. Got a good start on one of the sleeves!

yarma_medium2

Complete with cute little pumpkin stitch marker.

I actually got quite a few letters written this week, too! Yay. I had a lot of fun playing with wax seals. 😀

14134792_1765631083712092_292529470_n

In bookish news, tomorrow my wrap-up August post (shut up, who said the first week of September is almost over??) will be up. August was a rather disappointing month as far as my reading goals. 😦 But, on to other things!

Books I’m (hopefully) reading this week! Aiming for 2 reviews, 3 if I get really excited.

25064648 7895168 20493914 17347389

  1. The Reader (almost finished this one, OMG it’s so awesome!), by Traci Chee – releasing this week!
  2. Royal Blood, by Rhys Bowen
  3. Equal Rites, by Terry Pratchett
  4. The Dream Thieves, by Maggie Stiefvater

Well, that’s it for now! Hope everyone had a great Labor Day if you’re in the States, and here’s to a great week. May your reading time be always uninterrupted. 😉

 

2 thoughts on “Something Else Sunday #7

    • Thanks! I’m looking forward to finishing the Raven Cycle hopefully soon. I’m also in the process of reading (via audiobook) the Dark is Rising series, and it’s funny how the legends and stories of these two overlap.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

