The Right to Read


Continuing the celebration of the right to read, honoring books that have changed the stream of human thought, and getting to feel like a rebel (for a little while, anyway…being the good kid sometimes gets boring)!

0oiecnue-cgtu-sam

^I had no idea. The rest of the infographic is a timeline of banned books through history. Pretty cool.

18114322

Author C.H. Armstrong talks about Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath and why it (and the attempted censorship of it) is close to her heart. Also about the Library Bill of Rights (something I’d never heard of).

br_banned_email

Book Riot has an awesome bundle of banned bookish stuffs, that I, er, might have succumbed to. Ahem. Because I’m a complete sucker for all things bookish, good deals, and like I said…I like feeling like a rebel once in awhile. I actually already have these socks but seem to have lost one. They provoke ALL THE QUESTIONS from visitors to our house. Somehow, lately all the guests we’ve had have been non-readers and I get some very wide-eyed looks. Hehe.

ireadbannedbooks2016_giveaway

Frostbeard Studio and Bookworm Boutique are having a joint giveaway! I love that brilliantly loud red mug, and it not only comes on mugs but t-shirts, bags…I’m having so much trouble not buying it on EVERYTHING.

7666c7b80e32857c03d0f271b9a2f1bd

 

Bustle has a phenomenal list of quotes on censorship, and I want ALL OF THESE written on the walls of my house. ALL. Or maybe just inked onto my body.

 

 

Leave a Reply

