Looking Forwards and Back #3 – September/October


Um, no? September flew by WAY too fast. It is not possible for it to be October yet. Not that I really mind…I love October, I love the change of the seasons and the year. But…yeah. I feel like I lost a good bit of the month. Which, I sort of did. Some personal issues/stresses/sadness kept cropping up and basically my only coping strategy is to sleep, if books or knitting doesn’t fix it. Possibly not the BEST strategy, but…eh. I’m still here. So far. 😛

img_3920-2

I’m skipping my Something Else Sunday post in favor of this one, since I would like to NOT be an entire week behind on my recap post this month. As you can see, I only read six books this month. Last weekend I literally didn’t even touch a book. It was very sad indeed. But I got past it. 😉 And here are the reviews for this month! I did horribly, averaged one a week…but one is better than none!

25064648 204939141 78951681 29102898

The Reader – by Traci Chee. Wonderful book. Amazing. I ordered a signed copy, and am agreeing awaiting the sequel. 😀
Equal Rites – by Terry Pratchett. Awesome as expected.
Royal Blood – by Rhys Bowen. Middle of the road for this series, but not horrible.
The Cruelty – by Scott Bergstrom. Pretty solidly meh on this one.

img_3921-2

Anywho, I love Halloween and all the legends and stuffs that surround it. I’m using it as an excuse to go crazy on the paranormal/atmospheric/creepy type reads this month. As a result, a couple of books were shoved off of my immediate t0-read list. Which kind of makes me feel sad or like a failure, but, you know what…read what you love and what makes you happy at that time. I’ll have a full post on the titles I collected for October reads later this week…I’ll be lucky to get to more than 3 of them! But I love having choices. Haha. I’m focusing purely on my (very long overdue) library books, and my October/Halloween reads this month. I’ve added a few ARCs at the end of my list but don’t really expect to get to any of them. They’re just there to remind me, haha.

18743370 16158565

These are the books currently keeping me from checking out any others at the library. Because, erm, they might have been renewed the maximum number of times and are now 2 weeks past the last due date. Oops.

26893819 22328546 16034235

Somehow I still haven’t made it to Throne of Glass! Gah.

22543648 7046707 29631300 28962906

19119826 774733 248596

Aaaaand all the creepy books! Haha. Or the ones I expect to be creepy. I’ve already started the audiobook of Dracula – which, by the way, is freaking amazing…the numerous narrators just MAKES the book, to me. I sort of doubt that I will get to Frankenstein, since it’s the least interesting of this particular lot, to me…but I would love to! So many creepy classics I’ve missed through the years.

What’s your favorite Halloween or creepy book for this time of year?

7 thoughts on “Looking Forwards and Back #3 – September/October

    • I’m about halfway through Dracula and had the same thoughts! It’s creepy, I guess, but I’ve read or heard so many vampire legends…I guess it would have been terrifying reading it at that time though.

      Like

  1. Ohhh I hope you like The Architect of Song! I ONLY LOVE THAT BOOK AN ENORMOUS AMOUNT! *flails* Everything AG Howard writes is golden though. ❤ And are those photos of your bullet journal?! That is so cool you're doing a reading-bullet-journal. That's my plan for next year…if I get organised. hehe. I don't really do Halloween so I don't try to read creepy books in October particularly but I wooould like to read The Dead House sometime soon!! 😀

    Like

  2. Omg…I’m in the same boat! I have to read Red Queen because it’s overdue…it’s almost been a week now, but I’m at least almost done with TR&TD.
    Good luck: I know the frustration!
    Where did you get the ledger you use?

    Like

Leave a Reply

